|Executive Design||Italy – Rome, Ladispoli||Fondazione dei diritti genetici (FDG)|
The structure, fortified by four angular towers with battlements, was built in the fourteenth century. Belonged to the Basilica of San Pietro in 1400, it was renovated several times and for centuries acted as a staging station, representing a safe reference point for pilgrims, Couriers and travellers who were passing through the Aurelia and needed to refresh themselves, sleep or change horses.
The building of the Castellaccio, probably dating back to the fifteenth century, stands as a parallelepiped volume fortified with four angular towers. It consists into three levels, of which two above ground and one below ground that houses the underground cistern with the well in masonry. On the rear front, to the east, there is a secondary body with external plaster facing, more recently built (XVIII century), distributed between the ground floor and mezzanine floor and accessible from the central staircase.
The roof of the Castellaccio is composed of a wooden roof with two simple pitches with warping large beams (struts), medium (purlin) and small, in support of terracotta tiles on which rests roof tiles. The secondary body is covered by a sloped roof. Adjacent to the main body there is also a stable of about 260 square meters of surface.